Using World Wind in High School Classroom

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Using World Wind in High School Classroom

I am a Geology and Chemistry teacher at a private high school in the San Francisco Area and I wanted to use this forum as a place to both share how I have used World Wind in my classroom and as a place to get suggestions on how to use it further.

I learned of World Wind last fall and used it to limited extent last year in my geology class and am looking to use it more extensively this year. I have a background in remote sensing from my graduate school days, working with TIMS data to aid in field mapping in Arizona. I also use a program called MICRODEM in my geology course that will do a lot of excelent quantiative analysis of DEM data.

My class is quite small (8-10) students and are all juniors or seniors. It is a college preparatory school and most of the students are quite able and motivated to learn. Geology functions as a middle ground course that is not as testing as the Advanced Chemistry, Biology, or Physics courses but has more scientific weight than environmental science.

I want to get this section of the forum more active again and get some real though put into how we can use this awesome tool to promote excitement and learning in the sciences.

Steve Wood
    Dept. of Science
    The Athenian School

Week 1

Aug 30th- Sept 2nd

This week started off differently than expected because of Hurricane Katrina, and I decided to do a presentation on it rather than the usual into to the course. I took a couple of still pictures from world wind to put into a PowerPoint. For looking at Katrina I used the Modis ad-on to get day-old images of the Hurricane. Seeing it cover 1/4 of the US was impressive and used the North Atlantic Hurricane tracks to talk about and show the unpredictability of Hurricane Movements. The hurricane tracks worked very well.