Page 1 of 4 1234 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 40

Thread: DDS Plugin for geoserver

  1. #1
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    Toulouse
    Posts
    124

    Default DDS Plugin for geoserver

    I have written a plug in that allows geoserver WMS to serve dds tiles. This avoids WorldWind clients to convert png tiles into dds.
    I've used the "gov.nasa.worldwind.formats.dds.DDSConve rter" class from the WWJ sdk to perform the conversion.

    ddsGeoserverPlugin-src.zip

    plugin-dds-geoserver.jar

    To use it just copy the plugin-dds-geoserver.jar and worldwind.jar from the WWJ sdk into the subdirectory "webapps\geoserver\WEB-INF\lib" of your geoserver installation and restart geoserver.
    Last edited by vash; 05-17-2008 at 01:22 AM.
    -Nicolas CASTEL- Thales Alenia Space, Toulouse, France-

  2. #2
    Andrea Aime
    Guest

    Default Wow

    Hey, I still haven't tried it out but it sounds very interesting. Want to join us (GeoServer developers) on the gs-devel mailing list and maybe turn this plugin into a GeoServer community module?

  3. #3
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    Toulouse
    Posts
    124

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Andrea Aime View Post
    Hey, I still haven't tried it out but it sounds very interesting. Want to join us (GeoServer developers) on the gs-devel mailing list and maybe turn this plugin into a GeoServer community module?
    Hi Andrea, i appreciates your interest. Thanks for the work you're doing on GeoServer which is a wonderful implementation of OGC standards. I will be glad to help you turning my plugin into a GeoServer community module.
    -Nicolas CASTEL- Thales Alenia Space, Toulouse, France-

  4. #4
    Unregistered
    Guest

    Question Help me frns wid this...

    hey frns i have installed geoserver in the tomcat which is working fine and showing me the data which i have saved in it .But when i try to fetch the data from the mapbuilder software as my client software it is not able to fetch the data.I have modified the xml file and given the server address as follows
    <Server service="OGC:WMS" version="1.1.1" title="OGC:WMS">
    <OnlineResource xlink:type="simple" xlink:href="http://localhost:8080/geoserver/wms?SERVICE=WMS"/>
    </Server>
    what should i do to make it fetch the data frm the server???
    please help frns stuck frm a long time ...

  5. #5
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Posts
    17

    Default what is the input to this and what is sample of the request

    Vash,
    could you please tell me,
    what is the input to this and what is sample of the WMS request.
    how do we configure the geoserver.??
    Thanks



    Quote Originally Posted by vash View Post
    I have written a plug in that allows geoserver WMS to serve dds tiles. This avoids WorldWind clients to convert png tiles into dds.
    I've used the "gov.nasa.worldwind.formats.dds.DDSConve rter" class from the WWJ sdk to perform the conversion.

    ddsGeoserverPlugin-src.zip

    plugin-dds-geoserver.jar

    To use it just copy the plugin-dds-geoserver.jar and worldwind.jar from the WWJ sdk into the subdirectory "webapps\geoserver\WEB-INF\lib" of your geoserver installation and restart geoserver.

  6. #6
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    Toulouse
    Posts
    124

    Default

    You have nothing to configure. If it works properly the plugin add this output format to the WMS getCapabilities :
    Code:
    <Format>image/dds</Format>
    So just make a WMS request requesting this output format. Ex :
    Code:
    http://localhost:8080/geoserver/wms?bbox=-127.61950064999999,23.7351786,-64.08177035,50.592523400000005&styles=&Format=image/dds&request=GetMap&version=1.1.1&layers=topp:states&width=800&height=317&srs=EPSG:4326
    edit : I've just tested the plugin with the last 1.7.2 version and it doesn't work. Please use the 1.6.5 version of geoserver for the moment.
    Last edited by vash; 01-28-2009 at 12:29 PM.
    -Nicolas CASTEL- Thales Alenia Space, Toulouse, France-

  7. #7
    Worldwind Developer
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    Hobart, Australia
    Posts
    740

    Default Updated Geoserver Plugin with BIL and DDS support

    Hi All,

    I have updated the DDS plugin against the latest geoserver SVN code and added a BIL format producer as well based on WCS code. I would welcome feedback and usage notes. I have tested in eclipse using a geoserver SVN build but not in a live environment. The extra dependency added is worldwind.jar which is used for dds production. Give it a whirl and let me know. It can be deployed in the usual copy .jar to geoserver/WEB-INF fashion.

    The corresponding geoserver issue with .jar attached can be found here:
    http://jira.codehaus.org/browse/GEOS-3586

    Cheers,

    what_nick
    Attached Files Attached Files
    Last edited by what_nick; 10-14-2009 at 01:25 PM.
    Coding This and That in World Wind and helping new people out, as long as they don't pester too much.
    Currently blogging at: http://whatnicklife.blogspot.com
    Working at:
    Aerometrex - http://aerometrex.com.au/blog/
    Impact so far:



  8. #8

    Default How to configure Geoserver to serve BIL

    Hi,

    I am trying to use the dds/bil plugin for Geoserver but get some problems. When I choose the output format bil from the Layer preview panel from Geoserver administration, I get a binary file. But when I try to use the WMSBasicElevationModel to render the file from Geoserver, I get some problem due to the instruction "bg=-9999.0d" in the url...

    If somebody can explain that and/or give me some infos about how to configure correctly Geoserver, it would be really nice !

    Thanks
    Thomas

    PS : I am using Geoserver 2.0RC2 with a simple dem file using Geotiff format...

  9. #9

    Default

    Hi,

    After a lot of research, I copied the file WMSBasicElevationModel and commented the lines which are setting the bg parameter.
    But after that, I get another problem : the server says : "Cannot fetch BIL float data, Wrong underlying data type".
    So I used the debug mode and saw that ww used the application/bil32 format. So I forced it to ask for application/bil16 format.
    Using this, I get some Elevation data, but the values are incredibles ! (-12 3567, 60 987...)
    Moreover, I get this error : "getLayerExtremeElevations: GRAVE: Error parsing value".

    I don't know what to try anymore...
    If somebody gets an idea, it would be great...
    Thanks in advance,
    Thomas

  10. #10
    Worldwind Developer
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    Hobart, Australia
    Posts
    740

    Default Working with the elevations

    Hey 1st user of my plugin,

    In addition to the format type you also need byteorder for it to work properly i.e. LittleEndian and BigEndian, the raw binary data is subject to different interpretation with the different byte orders. I have just been shown how to add a Format operator to convert int to float etc. so that you don't have to worry about the native data type, may be I can add stuff to fix the byte order as well.

    The plugin is also now an official geoserver plugin.

    Cheers,

    what_nick.
    Coding This and That in World Wind and helping new people out, as long as they don't pester too much.
    Currently blogging at: http://whatnicklife.blogspot.com
    Working at:
    Aerometrex - http://aerometrex.com.au/blog/
    Impact so far:



Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Similar Threads

  1. Favorites / Bookmarks plugin
    By Dugrhill in forum Add-ons & Scripts
    Replies: 20
    Last Post: 02-27-2010, 05:59 AM
  2. GeoServer and WorldWind Integration
    By J-O-N in forum Development Help
    Replies: 14
    Last Post: 10-24-2009, 10:00 AM
  3. Replies: 1
    Last Post: 08-24-2006, 07:47 AM
  4. HELP, PLUGIN FREEZES !!!!
    By Unregistered in forum Add-on & Script Development
    Replies: 10
    Last Post: 07-10-2006, 11:52 AM
  5. stereo viewer plugin
    By jumpjack in forum Add-ons & Scripts
    Replies: 15
    Last Post: 08-19-2005, 10:48 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •