Results 1 to 7 of 7

Thread: What projection is Worldwind Java Imagery In?

  1. #1

    Question What projection is Worldwind Java Imagery In?

    All,

    I am attempting to add my one imagery using pat's Surface Image. It is working well but seems slightly off ontop of the worldwind imagery. I suspect this is projection related.

    Question: what projection is Worldwind java imagery in?

    Question: What datum is Worldwind java using?

    Thanks,

    Jared

  2. #2
    WWJ Consultant patmurris's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Location
    Saint-Paul de Vence, Alpes Maritimes, France
    Posts
    3,395

    Default

    Projection is the 'plate carré' or Equirectangular projection.
    I'm not sure about the datum... WGS84 ?
    Last edited by patmurris; 07-21-2007 at 01:37 AM.
    My World Wind Java Blog & WW.net Plugins page

  3. #3
    What? withak's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Location
    San Francisco, California
    Posts
    2,461

    Default

    Yup, WGS84. That's EPSG:4326 if you are using real GIS software.
    Last edited by withak; 07-21-2007 at 01:55 AM.

  4. #4

    Default

    Thanks guys. I appreciate the quick reply.

  5. #5
    WWJ Consultant patmurris's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Location
    Saint-Paul de Vence, Alpes Maritimes, France
    Posts
    3,395

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by jdorny View Post
    Thanks guys. I appreciate the quick reply.
    You're welcome
    Please let us know what kind of trouble you may run into with other projections. I'm still unsure how to handle them with wwj...

    BTW: withak, any idea what projections do GE, Virtual Earth, or the french Geoportail use ?
    My World Wind Java Blog & WW.net Plugins page

  6. #6
    What? withak's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Location
    San Francisco, California
    Posts
    2,461

    Default

    GE and VE do everything in lat/lon coordinates; I assume geoportail does also. I don't know what datum they use, but it's probably WGS84.

    VE uses some other projection for its image tiles, which is why the VE plugin for .NET WW needs the proj.4 dll. But I think it only has to convert the corner coordinates for each tile because the transformation is only linear horizontal and vertical scaling, no rotation.

  7. #7
    Bored Explorer m_k's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Location
    Warsaw, Poland
    Posts
    1,804

    Default

    GE is lat/lon, VE (and Google Maps) are Mercator, Geoportail uses some French SRS (Lambert2e or Lambert93)

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Similar Threads

  1. worldwind java sdk problem
    By research4681 in forum Development Help
    Replies: 14
    Last Post: 08-19-2010, 10:57 PM
  2. Portlet + Applet WorldWind Java + BasicDemo = works ;)
    By pred in forum Development Help
    Replies: 41
    Last Post: 04-16-2010, 06:52 PM
  3. Reg compiling the source code
    By Raj in forum Developers' Corner
    Replies: 10
    Last Post: 08-26-2008, 06:58 PM
  4. Worldwind Java not working on nw8440
    By Schwan in forum Development Help
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 07-18-2007, 07:18 AM
  5. Any news about WorldWind 1.5 (Java) ?
    By turman in forum Feature Discussion
    Replies: 40
    Last Post: 04-10-2007, 08:24 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •